Cheriton Sixes 2015 – The Rules

1 – Laws of Cricket

All matches will be played under the latest code of the Laws of Cricket 2000 as published by the MCC, further subject to these additional competition rules.

2 – Teams, Wicket Keepers & Substitutes

All matches shall be played between teams of 6 players drawn from a named squad of a maximum of 8 players declared on the team sheet and left with the scorers before the competition begins. Each team will play a wicket keeper who must be wearing gloves at the instant of each and every delivery, or else a no ball shall be called. The wicket keeper cannot be changed during an innings except in case of injury causing the wicket keeper to leave the field of play in which case a player who has already bowled will take over wicket keeper duties. No substitutes are allowed during any match for any circumstance. Therefore should a player leave the field that team plays on one man short. Should a player leave the field injured either during an unfinished over or before he has bowled, the two batsmen at the crease will choose which of the fielding side shall bowl to complete the innings.

3 – Playing Schedule

The match format is two pools followed by a semi-final and then a final. The 6 teams will all play one another in their pool to determine which teams will proceed to the next rounds. The match schedule will be published in advance, with no toss in the pool games, only in the semi-finals and final. The semi-finals will be played between the remaining top 4 teams with the semi-final winners contesting the final. In the event of two teams in the pool finishing level on points and scores are tied at the end of the game every player on each team shall bowl alternately at the wickets from the bowler’s end and the team scoring the most hits shall be the winner. In the event of the number of hits being equal, each team’s bowlers shall be nominated by their captain to bowl alternatively in a sudden death bowl out until a winner has been achieved.

The competition winners shall qualify for automatic invitation to the competition the following year [subject to Rule 13].

4 – Duration of Matches

Each match shall be played over one innings per team, with each innings being of a maximum of 5 x 6 ball overs [see Rule 7 Wides and No-Balls]. Each member of the fielding team will bowl one over. A match will be completed when the side batting second either scores more runs than their opponents, are bowled out by losing all 5 wickets [note last man does not bat on], or fail to reach their target in the 5 overs. 45 minutes has been allocated per match, should the match finish before this then the following match can start early.

5 – Points Structure

The winning team in each match shall be awarded 2 points, with 1 point to each team in the event of a tie [this being if the scores are level at the completion of the innings, with number of wickets lost ignored] and 0 points to the losers.

6 –  Batting Restrictions and Retirements

When a batsman reaches a score of 25 or more runs he will retire ‘not out’ and be replaced by a team mate as if a wicket had fallen. Only those runs scored from the bat or from a no-ball will be counted to the batsman. Marking on the crease shall be called a wide. A no-ball shall be called for a short-pitched delivery that passes the batsman above shoulder height and for a full-toss that reaches the batsman at the crease above waist height, whatever the speed of the bowling.

7 –  Wides and No-Balls

Wides and no-balls shall count as 3 extras, in addition to other runs or extras scored from that ball. For example a bye run from a ball called wide will count as 4, while a boundary hit from a no-ball counts as 4 to the batsman, plus 3 extras, totalling 7. However, following a wide or no-ball there will not be an additional ball bowled in that over except in the final over of the innings. For the leg side, a ball passing outside leg stump and behind the batsman, without touching the bat or any part of the batsman or his equipment, shall be called wide; and for the off side a ball passing outside of the additional guide markings on the crease shall be called wide. A no-ball shall be called for a short- pitched delivery that passes the batsman above shoulder height and for a full-toss that reaches the batsman at the crease above waist height, whatever the speed of the bowling.

8 – Fielding Restrictions

There are none this year!

9 – Clothing

Traditional cricket whites and/or Coloured shirts if you have them are permitted.

10   Fair Play

In order to ensure that the competition is completed on time and in the right spirit, particular attention shall be paid by the Umpires and Captains to the Code of Conduct of players, prompt starting times, and the penalising of wide and dangerous bowling. Any team not ready to take the field according to the playing schedule shall forfeit that match.

11   Bad Light/Wet Weather

If the competition is cancelled before a ball is bowled a refund of 50% will be paid. If the competition is required to start late or in the opinion of the Chief Umpire the competition is likely to finish in poor light then the Chief Umpire will confirm an amended playing schedule with team Captains, taking account of the following:
a] a late start, interruption during the day of more than 30 minutes, or the expectation of poor evening light will first lead to cancellation of the semi- finals. That being the case then there will be a Final only between the top 2 scoring teams from the Super League.
b] further delays caused by the weather will result in matches being reduced to 4 overs per side and then 3 overs until the playing schedule is resumed on time.

12   Competition Trophy

The competition trophy will be engraved with the name of the winning team and will remain on display in the Flower Pots Inn.

13   Entrance Fee

Entry shall be by invitation and payment of the entrance fee of £100 per team sent to the Treasurer Cheriton Cricket Club, Teal House, Cheriton, Alresford, Hampshire, SO24 0PY

14   Unforeseen Events

In the event of issues arising not covered by these Competition Rules the Competition Organiser shall be the sole arbiter. Proposals for rule amendments may be made by any participating Club for inclusion in the following year’s Competition Rules.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.